From Tuesday 4 March we will be making a change to Managed and CLT Desktops to prevent users mistakenly installing malware and ransom-ware. This change will be applied the next time you login after this date.
For most applications to be installed users require administrator access – the technology used in the Managed and CLT Desktops allow users to have this access when installing pre-approved applications or those available in Apps on Demand. However, some applications can install from the user area without requiring elevated access – these can be installed entirely unwittingly and can be harmful malware or ransom-ware.
The change we are making means that only applications that we have approved (or “white-listed”) can run. If you come across an application that we have not white-listed on the Managed Desktop you will be prompted to request a reason for using it and we will check it out on your behalf. If you come across an application that we have not white-listed on the CLT you will receive a blocked message. If you come across an application we have blocked you will receive a message to notify you. Examples are attached.
Help & Support
If you have any questions or feedback please contact us via Help4U quoting Change 332.